Notable Members of ABHP

John J. Scrivens

Founding member; ABHP first President 1978-1981; Distinguished Service Award named in his honor; ASHP-ABHP Leadership Award recipient. Instrumental in the development of the first Annual Luncheon, Reception, Member Forum, and Pharmaceutical industry partnerships. Founding partner of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA)

Paul Wellington Smith

Founding member; an initial Incorporator of ABHP (1978); chair of the first Constitution & Bylaw Committee (1979); first Executive Manager; Scrivens Distinguished Service Award recipient (2011).

Horace Knight

Served on ABHP initial Committees; Board of Directors; Treasurer (2004-2013); Scrivens Distinguished Service Award recipient (2012). U.S. Army (ret.)

Regina Jollivette Frazier

ABHP first Parliamentarian (1979); an initial Member; former Miss Howard University College of Pharmacy (1965); served as President of the Links, Inc and its Foundation (1986-1990). Cited as one of Ebony Magazine’s 100 Most Influential Black Americans from 1987 to 1990

Charlie Bellinger Bethea

Served on ABHP initial  Committees; the first African American female pharmacist to serve as a member and President of the Texas Board of Pharmacy (’95-’97). CEO of Bellinger-7 Films, Inc.,a movie production company; executive producer of Resurrection: The J. R.Richards Story (2005).

Allen Brown

Initial member; Chair of the ABHP first Awards Committee; The Allen Brown Cardiovascular Lecture named in his honor, for his significant support provide to efforts to address cardiovascular diseases in African Americans.

Miriam Mobley-Smith

Founding member; the ABHP first Vice President for Development (1979); first African-American female pharmacy resident at the Sinai Hospital of Detroit (1979); Dean, Northeastern University College of Pharmacy; former Dean, Chicago State University College of Pharmacy.

Robert D. GIbson

Served as the ABHP Vice President for Development (1994); Wendell T. Hill award recipient (1999); past President of the American Pharmacists Association (2000-2001); Remington Honor Medal recipient (2006).

Kathleen Kennedy

First Chair of the ABHP Educational Affairs Committee (1994); first African American female Dean of Xavier (La) College of Pharmacy; received the Malcolm Ellington Professor of Health Disparities Research Endowed Professorship (2004) and was appointed Founding Director of the Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities Research and Education (CMHDRE).

Jasper W. Watkins

Former ABHP Vice President for Development; Board of Directors (2005-2007); President (2006-2008); first African American Pharmacist in the Armed Forces to complete an (ASHP) Nuclear Pharmacy residency and to become Board Certified in Nuclear pharmacy (1991). 

Earnest Alexander

Former President of the ABHP was one of the key architects in creating the ABHP position statement on the Key Principles for Healthcare Reform. It was ABHP's first political effort in formally making a statement on the role of African American pharmacists, which was presented to the Obama administration.

John E. Clark

Former Vice President, Treasurer, and President of ABHP. Active in both the ASHP and ABHP, more than 25 consecutive years. A vocal advocate for the creation of culturally competent systems of care as a means to address racial and ethnic disparities in healthcare.  Instrumental in the development of the ASHP-ABHP MOU, the ASHP-ABHP Minority Health Conference, and the ABHP Research and Education Foundation.  

Marjorie A. Jackson

ABHP Vice President for Development (1990). First African American woman and pharmacist promoted to the rank of Colonel in the U.S. Army Medical Service Corps; first African American woman pharmacist to serve as Director of a U.S. Army major medical center pharmacy; and first to serve as Chief of Staff Administrative Services at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology.